Welcome to the TTP community

Be apart of something great, join today!

Law and order

akslop

Better Bastard
Jun 28, 2011
Tokens
Dirty Money
Any lawyers on here willing to answer a few questions with sending me an invoice?

Dont be afraid. Nothing serious. A unique issue i cant seen to find any answers to.

Thank you
Polska

Yoda

Staff member
Lifetime Better Bastard
Jul 25, 2001
Tokens
Dirty Money
I'm not a lawyer but there are various forms of law questions. Is it referring to real estate law, criminal law, corporate, commercial?
Do you only have 1 phone call?

akslop

Better Bastard
Jun 28, 2011
Tokens
Dirty Money
Thanks Yoda Petty stuff but the principal of what's happening has me pretty miffed.

Summary.

I operate a company that until May was located in Port Coquitlam. We had operated their for 30 plus years. Just over 2 years ago the city came in and and wrote The company up foir numerous violations due to the building being out of date with the current code they no longer we willing to grandfather us around the codes. We rent not own.

This lead to me not being able to obtain a business license for those 2 years. So instead the city would fine me double the business license fee as a penalty ($964.00). No Big deal I gladly paid it because it was alot cheaper then renting another 4000 sqf.

But because I could not get the business license the company would also be ticket by bylaw enforcement 150.00 a year. Again No big deal except the latest ticket that was issued 2 weeks before we moved was put in my personal name and not he company. I asked the city to re issue the ticket and take it out of my name which they said they were not going to do and they didn't do.

I could easily pay the ticket and the issue be dead but for me its the principal of it all that some civil servant down at city hall did not do their due diligence or was just plain lazy and targeted me personally for a debt I am not liable for. From my understanding its against the law.