Welcome to the TTP community

Be apart of something great, join today!

Teachers: Do they deserve more money?

Are teachers deserving of a pay increase?

• Hell Yes

Votes: 22 81.5%
  • Hell No

Votes: 5 18.5%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Dial 9-1-1

Jul 9, 2002
Tokens
Dirty Money
They are either seen as underpaid and overworked or underworked and overvacationed.

Me, personally, I think you cannot lump all teachers into the same category. Some can teach. Others can't. Some put in the extra time. Others are laying patches in the parking lot at 3:10. Those who do the whining are usually the ones who do the least. I say the government should get rid of the guaranteed salaries (pay scales according to years of experience and years of schooling) and pay according to what each individual teacher gives back to the school and to the district.

Skip

Jan 8, 2002
Tokens
Dirty Money
Being a teacher myself, I obviously have a bias here but I'll offer a few thoughts.

You are right in saying that there are all types of teachers, and we should not be grouped together. As in all other professions, there are those who work hard and go above and beyond, and there are those who f*ck the dog. Having taught for 8 years now, I would say that MOST teachers are diligent, and have the student's best interest at heart.

This part of your comment opens a huge can of worms IMO:

Dial 9-1-1 said:
get rid of the guaranteed salaries and pay according to what each individual teacher gives back to the school and to the district.